Monday, October 11, 2010

Former Playoff MVPs still in the 2010 Playoffs

Former LCS, World Series MVPs currently in the playoffs

Mariano Rivera, 1999 WS (Yankees)
Derek Jeter, 2000 WS (Yankees)
Andy Pettitte, 2001 ALCS (Yankees)
Mariano Rivera, 2003 ALCS (Yankees)
C.C. Sabathia, 2009 ALCS (Yankees)

Roy Oswalt, 2005 NLCS (Astros)
Placido Polanco, 2006 ALCS (Tigers)
Cole Hamels, 2008 WS (Phillies)
Ryan Howard, 2009 NLCS (Phillies)

Everyone Else
Troy Glaus, 2002 WS (Angels, Braves)
Matt Garza, 2008 ALCS (Rays, Rays)

Troy Glaus (Braves) might not be in the playoffs a few minutes from now (Giants up 3-2 going into the 9th), and Garza could be out if the Rangers win tomorrow.

Update: The Braves put up a good fight in the 9th, but ended up losing, so Glaus is out and Garza is the only player outside Philadelphia or New York left in the playoffs to have an LCS or WS MVP award.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter