Saturday, January 8, 2011

Hall of Fame: 2011

2011 Hall of Fame Voting (20+ %)
(1st year of eligibility: 2010) Barry Larkin 62.1% (2010 %: 51.6)
(2000) Jack Morris 53.5 (52.3)
(2003) Lee Smith 45.3 (47.3)
(2011) Jeff Bagwell 41.7
(2008) Tim Raines 37.5 (30.4)
(2010) Edgar Martinez 32.9 (36.2)
(2002) Alan Trammell 20.3 (22.4)
(2011) Larry Walker 24.3

20+ in 2010, 20- in 2011
(2010) Fred McGriff (21.5, 17.9)
(2007) Mark McGwire (23.7, 19.8)

The only people gaining traction are Barry Larkin and Tim Raines, with Larkin being the only one with any chance of being elected next year.  It will be a weak class, with Bernie Williams being the best players and he's might never make the Hall of Fame, let alone on the first ballot. 

Jack Morris has made progress, going from 37.1 in 2007 to 53.5 in 2011.  Unfortunately, he will only be eligible for 3 more years, and it's unlikely that he'll be able to get another 21% by then (especially with Maddux, Glavine, R. Johnson, etc, being eligible soon).

Tim Raines probably won't make it in next year, but this was only his 4th year of eligibility and he's increased by from 22% to 37% over the last 2 years, so he's heading in the right direction.  If Larkin improves again next year and gets near 70%, he'll be a lock at some time, because everyone who gets that close eventually gets in.  Everyone else is moving in the wrong direction, but they still have time on their side.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter