Saturday, January 14, 2012

Jack Morris

160+ Wins, .570+ W-L% (per decade, since 1940)
40's: Hal Newhouser
50's: Warren Spahn, Robin Roberts, Early Wynn
60's: Juan Marichal, Bob Gibson
70's: Jim Palmer, Gaylord Perry, Steve Carlton, Fergie Jenkins, Tom Seaver, Catfish Hunter, Don Sutton
80's: Jack Morris
90's: Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux
00's: None

Does this mean that Jack Morris should be in the Hall of Fame? No, but it is interesting.  A better illustration of how he compared to other pitchers from his era is that from 1979-1992, he had 233 wins with a .590 W-L%.  The closest in wins during that time period was Bob Welch with 192 wins, followed by Dave Stieb with 174 wins. 

Most wins, 14 year span
1956-1969: Don Drysdale 209 Wins
1960-1973: Juan Marichal, 238
1965-1978: Gaylord Perry 251, Fergie Jenkins 231
1974-1987: Steve Carlton, 212

This is obviously not an exhaustive list, but it shows that 233 compares well with some other time periods in recent times.

There are serious problems with Morris' Hall of Fame candidacy, although it seems to be finally picking up steam.  His ERA was high (3.90), never finished higher than 3rd for a Cy Young award, didn't have dominant walk or strikeout numbers, etc., but winning 233 games over a 14 year period (with a .590 W-L%) is impressive and unusual in modern history.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter